Folk, Byron Bay

Before I had even arrived in Byron I had at least 4 different people that I HAD to go to Folk just on the outskirts of Byron. They were absolutely right, it is one of the most delicious, welcoming places ever. Organic, ethical & plant based – I was too excited.

I wanted to get out of the city and head to the little town of Byron for a slower paced life, just for a little bit and slower paced is definitely what I got. It was everything I imagined. The long haired hippies, the surfers and plenty of healthy, hearty food.

As I am currently living in Bangalow, a cute little village outside Byron, I had already visited Woods which is Folk’s sister cafe. So I had already had a tester for what was about to come.. and it was goooood.

Pulling up to Folk is a little bizarre as it is outside a caravan park but the building of the cafe itself is beautiful, its white walls, recycled wood, tree stumps as stools, palm & gum trees surrounding – it is my ideal spot.

I arrived with my boyfriend and a 2 friends who are BIG meat eaters so I avoided telling them that the menu is plant based as I knew I would have to find another time to try the food. No body even batted an eye lid as the food menu is so subtle and so intriguing that i honestly think they forgot to even look for meat.

And when the food did arrive…

img_0338-1
Hot Cakes with smoothies
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Ayurvedic Cacao Hot Chocolate

I mean just look at it… and it was a taste sensation (haha!)

IG: @Wandererkatie

Leave a Reply

